The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards were founded in 1923 to identify students with exceptional artistic and literary talent and present their remarkable work to the world. Through the Scholastic Awards, teens in grades 7-12 (ages 13 and up) from public, private, or home schools can apply in 28 categories of visual art and writing for their chance to earn scholarships and have their works exhibited and published. Just a few of our illustrious Alumni include Andy Warhol, Truman Capote, Robert Redford, Sylvia Plath, Ken Burns, and, more recently, Lena Dunham, Richard Linklater, and Zac Posen. The 2019 Scholastic Awards received nearly 340,000 submissions in 29 categories of art and writing from students in grades 7-12 nationwide, and distribute more than $300,000 in direct scholarships annually.

Who is involved?

The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards are administered by the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. Each year, the Alliance partners with more than 100 visual arts and literary arts organizations across the country to bring the Awards to local communities.

Luminaries in the visual and literary arts, some of whom are past Awards recipients, jury submissions at the regional and national level. Jurors look for works that best exemplify originality, technical skill, and the emergence of a personal voice or vision.

Students in grades 7-12 (ages 13 and up) from across the United States, U.S. territories, U.S. military bases, and Canada work with their educator to prepare and submit works to the Awards each year.

How do the Awards work?

Submissions are first considered alongside the works of peers in their community at the regional level, where students may receive a Gold Key, Silver Key, or Honorable Mention. Gold Key or Silver Key award recipients are eligible to apply for a Scholastic Awards Summer Scholarship (SAS). Works that receive a Gold Key, the top regional award, are then judged at the national level by an impressive panel of creative-industry experts. Select works go on to receive National Medals, including Gold Medals, Silver Medals, Gold Medal and Silver with Distinction Portfolio Medals, and Special Achievement Awards. Some Special Achievement Awards come with additional scholarship opportunities.

To learn more about the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards and additional opportunities available through the Awards, visit artandwriting.org.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: